4r70w new install, shfting problems

A forum for discussing applications and implementations of the MegaShift transmission controller code for the GPIO from B&G. This can control up to 8-speeds and 6 shift solenoids (plus a 16x9 table for controlling a PWM line pressure valve). It has manual and fully automatic modes (16x9 load x speed table), with under and over rev-limit protection, and full data logging of all inputs and outputs (among many other abilities). A TransStim to test your completed board is also available.
Brittain G

4r70w new install, shfting problems

Post by Brittain G »

I just got my car moving under it's own power and could use a little help. I am new to the world of tuning and still making sense of the logs. I plan on getting a wide band O2 sensor so right now just need some advice on my transmission. Here is what I'm running.

1968 mercury cyclone with 302
GM TBI 55# inj, with Ls2 coil packs
MS2extra comms 342a2
4r70w with MSgpio running MShift 5.201

It will shift through the gears, however it holds the shifts way to long and slips/hunts gears when your up near 4th. The CAN-Load is running about 10kpa lower than what the ms2 reads. I just don't have enough experience to know if I'm missing something. I will attach a log and the tune for both controllers. Thank you in advance for your help.
2016-07-03_13.15.04.msl
Log
(3.13 MiB) Downloaded 576 times
2016-07-03_11.23.20.msq
MS2 engine tune
(112.26 KiB) Downloaded 723 times
2016-07-03_13.52.09.msq
MSgpio tune
(61.84 KiB) Downloaded 796 times
Bernard Fife

Re: 4r70w new install, shfting problems

Post by Bernard Fife »

If this was mine, I would start by reviewing the parameters here: http://www.msgpio.com/manuals/mshift/V5tune.html#gh
"Never wrestle with pigs. You both get dirty and the pig likes it." - George Bernard Shaw
Brittain G

Post by Brittain G »